Skip to content

Berserk Manga Order

Berserk is undoubtedly one of the most popular manga series in the United States. When the manga returned in 2023 with a new volume, it topped the charts, outselling One Piece and Demon Slayer in the processIt is also an influential work that affected not just many mangakas but also the worlds of games, film, animation, and literature. 

Written and illustrated by Kentaro Miura (1966-2021), Berserk is a Dark Fantasy manga set in a medieval-Europe-inspired world. The story follows Guts, a lone swordsman, on his quest for vengeance against Griffith, the leader of a mercenary band that betrayed him. Starting in 1989, Berserk was published in the manga magazine Monthly Animal House, which was replaced in 1992 by the semimonthly magazine Young Animal.

Berserk was a life’s work for Miura, who died from acute aortic dissection in May 2021. Manga artist Kouji Mori, the only person who knows how Miura intended to finish Berserk, has agreed to continue the manga and see it through to the end using plans and thoughts relayed to Mori by Miura himself, as well as memorandums and character designs that Miura left behind.

Berserk Reading Order Guide

You can buy the Digital English Volumes of Berserk on Dark Horse or Amazon.

Bersek, The Deluxe Editions

Let’s start by pointing out the beautiful Deluxe Edition put out by Dark Horse, an oversized 7” x 10” deluxe hardcover edition with each volume collecting three volumes from the classic paperback edition.

Berserk, All the Classic Volumes

Before the Deluxe Edition, Berserk was naturally collected in classic paperback volumes. Each Volume of Bersek contains several ‘Episodes”, which is traditionally called ‘Chapters’ in other manga. In Berserk, a ‘Chapter’ is a mini-arc/a segment of a bigger Arc (For example, the ‘Conviction Arc’ is composed of three Chapters). With that said, let’s now dive into the story of Berserk…

Black Swordsman Arc – Meet Guts, the Black Swordsman, a feared warrior spoken of only in whispers. Bearer of a gigantic sword, an iron hand, and the scars of countless battles and tortures, his flesh is also indelibly marked with The Brand, an unholy symbol that draws the forces of darkness to him and dooms him as their sacrifice. But Guts won’t take his fate lying down; he’ll cut a crimson swath of carnage through the ranks of the damned – and anyone else foolish enough to oppose him! Accompanied by Puck the Elf, more an annoyance than a companion, Guts relentlessly follows a dark, bloodstained path that leads only to death…or vengeance.

  • Berserk Vol. 1
    Collects the preludial episodes 01-03
  • Berserk Vol. 2
    Collects the preludial episodes 04-05
  • Berserk Vol. 3
    Collects the preludial episodes 06-09. The Preludial Episode 09 is the last part of the Black Swordsman Arc.

Golden Age Arc – It’s time for some Flashbacks! Yes, The Golden Age arc takes place before the Black Swordsman to tell us about Guts’ youth and is one of the most well-known parts of Berserk as it had been adapted into an anime series and a film trilogy. This arc starts at the end of Volume 3 and last until Volume 14.

Conviction Arc – While Guts’s journey of revenge continues, Guts encounters a group known as the Holy Iron Chain Knights, led by Farnese, a zealous leader.

Millennium Falcon Arc – Guts found himself slowly forming a party and his companions are dealing with the recent events affecting Griffith. The Kingdom of Midland is facing a new threat while Guts meets a new ally…

Fantasia Arc With the world transformed by Griffith’s actions, Guts and his companions travel to the magical island of Skellig…

Berserk Manga in Chronological Order

There is no particular reason to not follow the publication order, as the Black Swordsman is simply a story arc serving to introduce people to the world of Berserk before exploring his character’s past and universe with more depth. Still, following is the story in chronological order if you need a visual help on this subject!

  • Golden Age Arc  – Volumes 3-14.
    From preludial episode 09 (“Golden Age (1)”) to Episode 94 (“One Who Hunts Dragons”).
  • Black Swordsman Arc  –  Volumes 1–3.
    From preludial episode 01 (“The Black Swordsman to preludial episode 8 (“Guardian Angels of Desire (6)”). This arc takes place between episodes 94 and 95. 
  • Conviction Arc –   Volumes 14–21.
    From Episodes 95 to 176.
  • Millennium Falcon Arc –  Volumes 22–35.
    From Episodes 177 to 307.
  • Fantasia Arc – Volumes 35–45.
    Episodes 308–ongoing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *