Skip to content

Catwoman Reading Order

  • by

Catwoman Reading Order

Created by Bill Finger and Bob Kane, Catwoman is the name used by notorious Gotham City’s burglar Selina Kyle who’s known for loving cats and for using a bullwhip for a weapon. Originally, she was an adversary of Batman, but became some kind of antiheroine, and even an ally of the Dark Knight—and more on the romantic side.

Event if Catwoman made her first appearance in Batman #1 (1940) under the name “the Cat,” she had to go away for a time between September 1954 to November 1966 after losing the battle against the Comics Code Authority. She came back to commit more crimes in the pages of the DC Comics titles. But those stories are not part of the current continuity, so we will focus on what is called the “Modern Era” of DC Comics.

Like others like her, her origins are not clear, multiple authors revised them, but it is firmly established that Selina Kyle grew up on the streets of Gotham, spent some time in an orphanage and in a juvenile detention center. She was working as a dominatrix at some point (in Batman: Year One) before becoming a successful thief who likes to rob the rich and powerful men of Gotham.

Catwoman had her first solo ongoing series in 1993 and took part in the major events of that era. At one point, she fought with the Justice League and later completely reformed, but it was more complicated than a crisis of conscience. Talking about a Crisis, after Infinite Crisis (see reading order), Selina is no longer Catwoman. Holly Robinson took over for a short period of time. Later, Catwoman formed the Gotham City Sirens with Poison Ivy and Harley Quinn. At one point during the New 52 era, Eiko Hasigawa became Catwoman (and Selina one of the Gotham City crime bosses). With Rebirth, Catwoman occupied a prominent role in the third volume of Batman, her relationship with Batman played a major role in the story.

Catwoman Reading Order

First, if you want to read some classic Catwoman tales, pre-Crisis, and a little more, take a look at the 75 Years celebration book:

  • Catwoman: A Celebration of 75 Years
    Collects Batman (1940) #1, 3, 65, 69, 323-324, Batman ’66 #15, Batman: Gotham Adventures #4, The Brave and the Bold #197, Catwoman (vol. 1) #1, Catwoman (vol. 2) #28, Catwoman (vol.3) #20 & 52, Catwoman (vol. 4) #35, DC Super Stars #17, Gotham City Sirens #1, Solo #1, Superman’s Girl Friend, Lois Lane #70-71, and Wonder Woman (1942) #201-202.

Or the more recent Batman Arkham: Catwoman trade that also contains Catwoman’s origins and a few other stories:

  • Batman Arkham: Catwoman
    Collects Batman (1940-) #1, #3, #266, #332, #355, Batman (1968-) #210, Catwoman (1993-) #57, Catwoman (2001-2010) #10, Catwoman (1988-) #2, Catwoman (2018-) #1, Catwoman: When in Rome (2004-2005) #4, Detective Comics (1937-) #122, Who’s Who: The Definitive Directory of the DC Universe (1985-) #4

Catwoman of East End

In 2002, Catwoman is back with her new solo series, first from Darwyn Cooke, then Ed Brubaker. They wrote some of the best Selina Kyle stories, and everything is now collected in one big book.

  • Catwoman of East End Omnibus
    Collects Detective Comics #759-762; Catwoman #1-37; Catwoman Secret Files #1; Catwoman: Selina’s Big Score #1.

At that point, Ed Brubaker left the title. Will Pfeifer wrote the second half of the series. It also is a good time to read Hush, a story taking place during that time.

Gotham City Sirens

Catwoman, Poison Ivy, and Harley Quinn are trying to fly on the straight and narrow. Tired of playing by other people’s rules, regardless of which side of the law they’re on, these tough ladies have a new agenda that’s all their own, and they’ll use any means necessary to pursue it.

Catwoman Reading Order

Catwoman New 52

After the famous Flashpoint crossover event, DC Comics relaunched 52 series, one of them was Catwoman written first by Judd Winick, then by Ann Nocenti.

Justice League - Catwoman Reading OrderTrinity War & Forever Evil. Catwoman joined the Justice League of America in the book Justice League of America Vol. 1: World’s Most Dangerous, then got involved in the Trinity War/Forever Evil events. You can find the reading order for those two crossover events here.

Catwoman Reading Order

Catwoman Rebirth

Unlike with New 52, Catwoman didn’t get her own title at the beginning of the Rebirth era. But she ended up playing a bit part in Batman by Tom King with the famous wedding and more.

After Ram V left the title, Tini Howard became the new writer of the Catwoman series.

Last Updated on August 22, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *