Skip to content

Daredevil: Shadowland Reading Order

  • by

Daredevil Shadowland Reading Order

One of Daredevil’s greatest qualities, in my opinion, is the fact that you can read his stories without having to deal with too many Marvel events. Yes, he’s often present but most of the time, it doesn’t affect his story.

Once in a while, though, an event will have an impact on his life, or more rarely, it will be a Daredevil event! It was the case in 2010 with Shadowland, written by Andy Diggle and penciled by Billy Tan. It gives us one controversial event, maybe not as bad as some said, but not good either, if we have to be honest. Still, it is now part of Daredevil history.

But what is Shadowland about? Per Marvel: Matt Murdock dared evil … and lost! The battle for the soul of a hero begins! Pushed beyond his limits, Daredevil faces off for a final time against his deadliest foe–Bullseye–in their most brutal battle ever with more than just Hell’s Kitchen is at stake. Spider-Man, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, Punisher, and more join forces to stop a war that is breaking out throughout New York, with Daredevil at the center. This event will change the streets of New York City–and the heroes that protect it–forever.

What to read before Daredevil: Shadowland?

The first Daredevil issues written by Andy Diggle serve as a preamble for the event. Nothing important happens but, like it’s often the case, helps to put things in perspective and have a better understanding of the character’s situation. (It’s also collected in the Shadowland omnibus).

Daredevil Shadowland Reading Order: Collected Editions

  • Daredevil Shadowland Omnibus (new printing)
    Collects Dark Reign: The List – Daredevil 1; Daredevil (1998) #501-512; Shadowland #1-5; Shadowland: Elektra, Bullseye, Ghost Rider, Spider-Man, After The Fall; Shadowland: Moon Knight #1-3; Shadowland: Blood On The Streets #1-4; Shadowland: Daughters Of The Shadow #1-3; Shadowland: Power Man #1-4; Thunderbolts (1997) #148-149; Daredevil: Reborn #1-4.

Daredevil Reading Order

Daredevil Shadowland Reading Order: Issue by issue

  • Shadowland #1
  • Shadowland: Bullseye
  • Shadowland: Elektra
  • Daredevil #508
  • Daredevil #509
  • Shadowland: Moon Knight #1
  • Shadowland #2
  • Shadowland #3
  • Shadowland: Spider-Man #1
  • Shadowland: Ghost Rider #1
  • Shadowland: Moon Knight #2
  • Shadowland: Moon Knight #3
  • Shadowland: Power Man #1
  • Shadowland: Power Man #2
“Take him!” – Daredevil from Shadowland #1
  • Shadowland: Blood on the Streets #1
  • Shadowland: Blood on the Streets #2
  • Shadowland: Blood on the Streets #3
  • Shadowland: Blood on the Streets #4
  • Shadowland: Daughters of the Shadow #1
  • Shadowland: Daughters of the Shadow #2
  • Shadowland: Daughters of the Shadow #3
  • Thunderbolts #148
  • Thunderbolts #149
  • Daredevil #510
  • Shadowland: Power Man #3
  • Shadowland: Power Man #4
  • Shadowland #4
  • Daredevil #511
  • Shadowland #5
  • Daredevil #512
  • Shadowland: After the Fall #1

Daredevil Reading Order

What to read after Daredevil Shadowland?

Daredevil: Reborn is also collected in the omnibus and for a good reason. It deals with the Aftermath of Shadowland for Daredevil and serves as an epilogue to the event, but also to Andy Diggle’s time on the series. This leads to the excellent run of writer Mark Waid and artist Chris Samnee on the character, with Daredevil by Mark Waid Vol. 1.

Last Updated on December 1, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *