Skip to content

Hawkeye Kate Bishop Reading Order: Where to start with the Superior Hawkeye?

  • by

Hawkeye Kate Bishop Reading Order

For a moment, Marvel was really all about legacy characters. The result was not necessarily memorable, but there are exceptions like Kate Bishop, the second Hawkeye. Kate is heir to the Bishop fortune, being the daughter of publishing magnate Derek Bishop. Sometime after her mother died, Kate was attacked in Central Park. After that, she began to train hard and started to school herself in the arts of archery and other types of combats. She was determined to help others.

When Kate met the Young Avengers during her older sister’s wedding—when gunmen took the entire church hostage—she decided with Cassie Lang to join the team and that’s where her new career started. Now, she’s a legitimate hero, fighting alone, with a team, or with Clint Barton, the original Hawkeye.

Hawkeye Kate Bishop Reading Order:

We all know Kate Bishop is the Superior Hawkeye, but let’s not forget about the first Hawkeye aka Clint Barton! You can read more about Clint in his dedicated reading order!

At the beginning of her Marvel career, Kate Bishop teamed up with the Young Avengers. In fact, she made her first appearance in Young Avengers #1 (April 2005) by Allan Heinberg and Jim Cheung. This series was created in the wake of “Avengers Disassembled“.

  • Young Avengers by Heinberg & Cheung Omnibus
    Collects Young Avengers (2005) #1-12, Young Avengers Special (2005), Civil War: Young Avengers & Runaways (2006) #1-4, Young Avengers Presents (2008) #1-6, Secret Invasion: Runaways/Young Avengers (2008) #1-3, Dark Reign: Young Avengers (2009) #1-5, Siege: Young Avengers (2010) #1, Avengers: The Children’s Crusade (2010) #1-9, Avengers: The Children’s Crusade – Young Avengers (2011) #1, Young Avengers (2005) #1 Director’s Cut, And Material From Uncanny X-Men (1981) #526.

This TPB only collects the part dedicated to the Young Avengers in the massive Civil War event. Also, in Winter Soldier: Winter Kills, Kate teamed up with the Winter Soldier, and Civil War: Fallen Son #03, Kate met Clint Barton for the first time.

Kate Bishop and her team contributed to a lot of Marvel events of that time. What follows is not an exhaustive list of all of Kate’s appearances, but it’s most of them. She rarely had the opportunity to be more than a sidekick here and there. It’s mostly optional.

It’s a new era, the Marvel Now Era. Fewer events, especially for Kate Bishop and the Young Avengers. Kate Bishop is back with the team. Her profile was growing, so she teamed up with Clint Barton for one of the most famous series about Hawkeye, the one by Matt Fraction and David Aja.

(!) Nothing to do with Kate Bishop, but if you like Kieron Gillen & Jamie McKelvie’s work, go check out Wicked & Divine.

It’s event time with Civil War II (full reading order here). Another War in which Kate Bishop has a small role to play.

There’s a new Hawkeye Series by Kelly Thompson and Leonardo Romero, and it’s all about Kate Bishop in LA doing some PI work. When that series ended, the story continued in West Coast Avengers in which Kate teamed up in LA with Clint Barton, America Chavez, Kid Omega, Gwenpool, and Fuse. After that, Kate made some guest appearances and a few cameos, I only listed the books in which she plays a minimum role in a storyline.

This period is also collected in:

Kate Bishop joined the MCU! That’s probably why she got a new series. Kate Bishop has her sights set on the Big Apple! But a lot has changed since she was last in New York. So before she completes her journey back, she’s taken on a pit-stop case first. A confidence-booster, to prove to herself that she’s making the right decision and not going to backslide into her old ways just by changing time zones. Besides, the case is perfect: Swanky resort? Check. Jewel heist? Check. Almost definitely 100% a trap? Check! 

Last Updated on March 23, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *