Skip to content

Injustice Reading Order, an alternate universe where Superman is bad (Earth-22)

During the last ten years, DC found real success in the video game market, as we already have seen with the franchise Batman: Arkham Knight (see reading order). But it’s not the only video game from which emerged a very popular alternate version of DC.

A few years later after the launch of Batman: Arkham Knight, in 2013, was released the fighting video game Injustice: Gods Among Us, from NetherRealm Studios. A comic book prequel was published beforehand, serving as a prequel detailing the events leading up to the game, first written by Tom Taylor (then by Brian Buccellato), and illustrated by several artists, including Jheremy Raapack, Mike S. Miller, Bruno Redondo, Tom Derenick, and others.

We all know that the Joker could blow up the world and Batman would still not kill him. But what about Superman? Injustice explores what happens when Superman does what Batman would never do and decides to start ruling the world.

Injustice Reading Order

Injustice Year Zero: Fall of the Old Gods – As recently published in 2020, Year Zero is a prequel to Injustice: Gods Among Us. As always with this kind of story, you can choose to read it first or read it in publication order (so at the end of this reading order) to be familiar with the whole story before discovering the world that preceded it.

Injustice Year One: Gods Among Us – What would happen if Superman, Earth’s greatest hero, had had enough and just decided to enforce peace by any means necessary? This is the premise of Injustice, with one man standing between Superman and absolute power: Batman!

Injustice Year Two: Gods Among Us – The fight against Superman continues when the Green Lantern Corps notices the drastic wrongs being committed in that sector…

Injustice Year Three: Gods Among Us – Magic users are introduced in the Injustice Universe, with John Constantine, the Spectre, Deadman, Zatanna, and Doctor Fate. Brian Buccellato took writing duties, succeeding to Tom Taylor on the title, from issue #14.

Injustice Year Four: Gods Among Us – The gods of Olympus unleashed on Earth! This is the introduction of the Greek Gods.

Injustice Year Five: Gods Among Us – The fifth and final year leading us into the video game.

Injustice: Ground Zero/ Injustice: The Video Game – This is where the video game takes place, and Ground Zero tells the game’s story from Harley Queen’s point of view. Brian Buccellato and Christopher Sebela co-wrote the title.

Injustice 2 – Tom Taylor is back on Injustice for the sequel, teaming up with artists Bruno Redondo, Juan Albarran, Daniel Sampere, Mike S. Miller, and Xermanico. The story deals with the aftermath of Injustice, serving again as a prequel to the video game.

Injustice 2, the video Game – This is where you play Injustice 2. When comes the end, you can choose between Batman and Superman, deciding on which of the two endings you will see. Taking place after the Absolute Power ending (The Superman one or the Bad Ending), you can read Injustice vs. Masters of the Universe (this story doesn’t happen in the continuity where the player chooses Batman).

Other Collected Editions

The Complete Collection

Softcover edition collected each year in one volume.

The Omnibus Edition

Injustice is also collected in omnibus form, meaning a big hardcover book.

  • Injustice: Gods Among Us Omnibus Vol. 1
    Collects Injustice: Gods Among Us #1–12, Annual #1, Injustice: Gods Among Us: Year Two #1–12, Annual #1, Injustice: Gods Among Us: Year Three #1–12, Annual #1
  • Injustice: Gods Among Us Omnibus Vol. 2
    Collects Injustice: Gods Among Us: Year Four #1–12, Annual #1, Injustice: Gods Among Us: Year Five #1–20, Annual #1, Injustice: Ground Zero #1–12

After Injustice

If you want to stay a little longer in this universe, you can watch the animated movie Injustice, released this year.

Last Updated on August 12, 2022.