Skip to content

House of M Reading Order, a Marvel event full of X-Men and Avengers

  • by

After Brian Michael Bendis took over the Avengers (see reading order), the Marvel Universe became a series of events, starting with “Avengers Disassembled.” The second one was “House of M”, a bigger event that changed the X-Men a lot—also, take a look at our X-Men Reading Order for more.

So, The Avengers and the X-Men are faced with a common foe that becomes their greatest threat: Wanda Maximoff!

The unstable Scarlet Witch has rewritten reality—into a world where Magneto is king! In this “House of M,” mutants are Earth’s dominant species, living glamorous lives and reigning over the oppressed Sapien class. But Wolverine, now a member of Magnus’ peacekeeping force S.H.I.E.L.D., remembers how the world used to be. And his quest to find and awaken his former allies in the Avengers and X-Men sparks a revolution that aims to tear down Wanda’s strange new world!

What to read before House of M?

Being a direct follow-up to “Avengers Disassembled,” I recommend the full reading order of this event. In any case, you could read Brian Michael Bendis’s New Avengers, but also Excalibur for a prelude to the event and (more optional) Astonishing X-Men for some background on the X-Men team of the moment.

House of M Reading Order:

House of M Reading Order: Collected Editions

  • House of M Omnibus 
    Collects House of M #1-8, Spider-Man: House of M #1-5, Fantastic Four: House of M #1-3, Iron Man: House of M #1-3, New Thunderbolts (2004) #11, Black Panther (2005) #7, Uncanny X-Men (1981) #462-465, Wolverine (2003) #33-35, Captain America (2004) #10, Pulse (2004) #10, Cable & Deadpool #17, Incredible Hulk (2000) #83-87, New X-Men (2004) #16-19, Exiles (2001) #69-71, Mutopia X #1-5, Decimation: House of M – The Day After, Giant-Size Ms. Marvel (2006) #1, Secrets of the House of M, Pulse: House of M Special, House of M 1 Director’s Cut, House of M Sketchbook, material from Hulk: Broken Worlds Book One.

All of that is also available in trade paperbacks:

House of M Reading Order: Issue by Issue

  • House Of M #1-2
  • Fantastic Four House Of M #1-3
  • Spider-Man House Of M #1-5
  • Iron Man House Of M #1-3
  • Incredible Hulk #83-86
  • New X-Men #16-19
  • Secrets Of The House Of M
  • The Pulse House Of M Special
  • House Of M #3-4
  • Cable & Deadpool #17
  • The Pulse #10
  • Wolverine #33-35
  • New Thunderbolts #11
  • Captain America #10
  • House Of M #5
  • Mutopia X #1-4
  • Black Panther #7
  • Giant-Size Ms. Marvel
  • House Of M #6-7
  • Uncanny X-Men #462-465
  • Exiles #69-71
  • House Of M #8

Marvel being Marvel, three miniseries connected to “House of M” were published a few years later. You can read them during or after the event.

After House of M

As I said in the introduction, it was an era of continuing events. What’s coming next is “Civil War“, and you can find the full reading order of the event here.

But before “Civil War” and after “House of M“, there’s “Decimation” (reading order here) that dealt with the direct aftermath of the event for the X-Men (for more information, go to the X-Men Reading Order):

From the ashes of House of M, a new Excalibur team is formed to combat the aftereffects of this cataclysmic event!

Last Updated on December 23, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *