Skip to content

Robin War Reading Order

  • by

Robin War Reading Order

Published by DC Comics between December 2015 to January 2016, Robin War is a crossover event featuring most of the incarnations of Batman’s crime-fighting partner, Robin, including Damian Wayne, Tim Drake, Jason Todd, and the original, Dick Grayson. It was set during that time when Commissioner Gordon replaced Batman by using a robotic Bat-suit (see Batman New 52 or Batman by Snyder & Capullo) and the We Are Robin movement put the spotlight on the young crimefighters.

Here is the official synopsis: In a Gotham City turned upside down, Robin has become more than a single hero—Robin is a movement. With Bruce Wayne sidelined and the Batman co-opted by the police, a legion of teens are putting on the yellow “R” and following in the footsteps of their crime-fighting icons. But all it takes is one tragic accident for everything to go wrong. And when it does, the crackdown on the Robins is swift and merciless. Now, all of the original Boy Wonders—Dick Grayson, Jason Todd, Tim Drake and Damian Wayne—are back in Gotham, determined to save the kids who have taken up their legacy.

This Robin War is not as spontaneous as it seems. From their shadowy lair, Gotham’s oldest and most powerful secret society is manipulating all sides of the conflict—and not even those who trained for years with the World’s Greatest Detective can guess the true purpose behind the Court of Owls’ intricate plan—for more information about the Court here.

What to read before Robin War?

As the Robin War event is connected to the Court of Owls, I invite you to take a look at our reading guide dedicated to this secret society. But the essential is:

Before reading Robin War, you may want to be up-to-date with the new “Robins” group. It’s in the pages of the We are Robin series.

Optional, but if you want to know more about Gordon as Batman, take a look at Batman, Vol. 8: Superheavy, Pt. 1.

Robin War Reading Order

The Collected Edition

Robin War being on the smaller scale of the DC Events, you can find it collected in one book:

  • Robin War
    Collects Robin War #1-2, Robin: Son Of Batman #7, Grayson #15, Detective Comics #47, We Are Robin #7, Gotham Academy #13, Red Hood/Arsenal #7, and Teen Titans #15.

Robin War Reading Order - Robin Letter Icon

Robin War Reading Order: Issue by Issue

  • Robin War #1
  • Red Hood/Arsenal #7
  • Grayson #15
  • Gotham Academy #13
  • Detective Comics #47
  • We Are Robin #7
  • Robin: Son Of Batman #7
  • Teen Titans #15
  • Robin War #2

Robin War Reading Order - Courts of Owls Logo

After Robin War

Once the Robin War ended, things mostly went back as they were, except in the We are Robin series:

It took a bit more time, but the fallout from Robin War for Dick Grayson can be found in his next series, as he had to deal with Court of Owls again:

Last Updated on April 8, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *