Skip to content

Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski Reading Order

  • by

From 2001 to 2007, J. Michael Straczynski was the main writer of The Amazing Spider-Man series. An important run, even if Marvel’s editors ruined it at the end (Civil War! One More Day!!!). In January 1999, Howard Mackie started to write volume 2 of the series, and Straczynski took over with issue #30.

His run is mostly famous for his great and lengthy “Spider-Totem” arc that questioned the source of Spider-Man’s powers (Magic?). Also, Aunt May discovered the truth about her nephew, Mary Jane came back, and Peter started to teach at his former high school.

Of course, with the Civil War, things didn’t go well for Spidey, everything changed until it was time to clean up and let another writer take over (after a short while, Dan Slott started his 10-year run).

What to read before Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski?

First, you can check out our Spider-Man Reading Order that covers the adventures of Spidey from the start to today.

As J. Michael Straczynski took over The Amazing Spider-Man after Howard Mackie, you might be tempted to take a look at what was done at that time (it’s optional, of course). Mackie’s run is not fully collected for now, but you can find the last storyline, which was published after the Marvel Crossover event Maximum Security.

Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski Reading Order

This reading order is mainly about J. Michael Straczynski’s work on Amazing Spider-Man. At that time, there were multiple Spidey lead titles like Peter Parker: Spider-Man (later replaced by Spectacular Spider-Man v2), Spider-Man’s Tangled Web, and Venom which was occasionally connected to The Amazing Spider-Man.

I decided to not mix the different collections to avoid confusion. We start with the Omnibus Collection (oversized hardcover), then the Ultimate Collection (big TPBs), and then the regular-size TPBs with a bit more details and some stories not written by JMS.

Amazing Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski Omnibus

Before a more detailed reading order, here is what can be found in omnibus form:

Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski Reading Order

The Amazing Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski Ultimate Collection

Another collection, this time it’s the Ultimate one (not connected to the Ultimate universe, of course). Those books are just bigger TPBs

The Amazing Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski Reading Order + Bonus

Now, it’s the regular collection, plus what was published at the time, meaning Peter Parker: Spider-Man, The Spectacular Spider-Man, and other series and crossover events (Spider-Man joined The Avengers at some point). If it’s not in bold, it’s not written by J. Michael Straczynski.

Civil War! Peter travels with Tony Stark to Washington, D.C., and the White House–where the enactment of the Super Hero Registration Act appears imminent. As the Marvel Universe braces for the implications of legislation that will forever change the societal status of superheroes, Peter is forced to make an important personal decision–maybe the most important decision of his life. As Civil War tears apart the superhero community, will Spidey stay true to that decision? It’s time to check the Civil War Reading Order.

After Amazing Spider-Man by J. Michael Straczynski

After the infamous One More Day that marked the end of Straczynski’s work on the title, Marvel decided to only keep The Amazing Spider-Man, and it was published three times a month, with a team of rotating artists and writers. The first arc was Brand New Day worked as a “Back to Basics” storyline, leading the way to Dan Slott’s solo run.

The Omnibus:

  • Spider-Man: Brand New Day Omnibus Vol. 1
    Collects Free Comic Book Day 2007 (Spider-Man), Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #546-583, Amazing Spider-Man Annual (2008) #1, Secret Invasion: Amazing Spider-Man #1-3, Presidents’ Day Celebration Digital Comic, Spider-Man: Fear Itself One-Shot (2009), Amazing Spider-Man: Extra! #2, Spider-Man: Swing Shift Director’s Cut One-Shot And Material From Amazing Spider-Man: Extra! #1.

…or The Complete Collection:

Last Updated on March 6, 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *