Skip to content

Suicide Quad

Suicide Squad Reading Order

  • by

The Suicide Squad as we know it today wasn’t always like that. First created by writer Robert Kanigher and artist Ross Andru in 1959 in the pages of The Brave and the Bold #25, the first incarnation of The Suicide Squad was a team of good guys with a scientific edge led by Rick Flag Jr. They faced monsters and nuclear bombs. It didn’t last long, and we will not talk about it more here.

The Suicide Squad, as we know, was introduced by writer John Ostrander (with Len Wein) and artist John Byrne in the pages of the Legends miniseries in 1986, the first major DC Universe crossover after the events of Crisis on Infinite Earths. This governmental team controlled by the morally ambiguous Amanda Waller is really called Task Force X and is composed of supervillains like Blockbuster, Bronze Tiger, Captain Boomerang, Deadshot, and Enchantress. Rick Flag Jr. is still the leader. The team is sent on “suicide” missions—sometimes, everybody is not coming back.

From 1987 to 1992, John Ostrander wrote the Suicide Squad ongoing series with the help of Kim Yale, and art by Luke McDonnell and John K. Snyder III, among others. It lasted 66 issues. After that, the Squad didn’t retire but only guest-starred in other titles for a while. A new ongoing was launched in 2001, written by Keith Giffen, with art by Paco Medina. The members changed quickly and Sgt. Rock became the squad leader (the members changed regularly).

As part of DC New 52 continuity reboot in 2011, The Suicide Squad was once more relaunched—this time by Adam Glass, with art by Federico Dallocchio and Ransom Getty. Amanda Waller built a new team around Deadshot, Harley Quinn, and King Shark. This series concluded after 30 issues, but the Suicide Squad came back rapidly after that. In fact, it never really went away since.

Read More »Suicide Squad Reading Order

Last Updated on February 10, 2023.

Harley Quinn Reading Order

Harley Quinn is a rarity in the Comic Book World because she was created on TV by Paul Dini and Bruce Timm in Batman: The Animated Series, in 1992. She became a recurring character on the show and, because of her popularity, she made the transition to paper, joining the Batman comic book canon seven years later.

Here was her story at the beginning, as told in the Mad Love comics: When she was only seven years old, Harleen Quinzel witnessed her father being beaten up by thugs, and then arrested by the police. That night she ran away to the safest place she could think of: Coney Island amusement park. But there, pursued into the Funhouse by the men who brutalized her father, she beheld unimaginable horrors. Years later, Harleen has put her past behind her and used her intelligence and ambition to escape her childhood of poverty with a career in psychiatry. Assigned to her first position at Arkham Hospital, she will discover, deep in the asylum, something dangerous and alluring, something quite unlike anything else she has ever known before: The Joker.

She became Harley Quinn and, after having been injected with a special formula by Poison Ivy, she got new abilities, such as immunity to toxins and enhanced strength and agility. She left Joker behind and became a solo criminal. It was not a hit at first, but Harley came back a few years after the end of her first solo series to team up with Catwoman and Poison Ivy (forming the Gotham City Sirens).

Harley was a criminal, then an anti-heroine. Her backstory was refined, as her relationship with Poison Ivy. She became quite popular on paper (especially during the 2010s), and later on the big screen too.

Read More »Harley Quinn Reading Order

Last Updated on March 6, 2024.

War For Earth-3 Reading Order

  • by

Written by Robbie Thompson and Dennis “Hopeless” Hallum, with art by Steve Pugh (War for Earth-3), Eduardo Pansica, Julio Ferreira, Dexter Soy (Suicide Squad), Fernando Pasarin (The Flash), and Mike Norton (Teen Titans Academy), War for Earth-3 is a 2022 crossover storyline composed of a 2-part limited series and issues from Suicide Squad, The Flash, and Teen Titans Academy.

Here is the official synopsis: The Teen Titans, the Flash and the Suicide Squad all collide on Earth-3—home of the evil Crime Syndicate—on the hunt for former Task Force X mastermind Amanda Waller.

As Waller tries to take over the alternate Earth and dethrone evil versions of Superman, Wonder Woman, Batman, and other heroes that rule it, her former partner—Rick Flag—arrives on E-3 bent on making Waller pay for her crimes, while the Titans and Flash hunt for a missing academy student they believe was kidnapped by Waller to form her mysterious Justice Squad.

What to read before War For Earth-3?

First, to know more about the evil Crime Syndicate of Earth-3, you have to read the miniseries spinning out of Dark Nights: Death Metal written by Andy Schmidt with art by Bryan Hitch and Keiron McKeown:

After The War For Earth-3 crossover event, the ongoing series of Suicide Squad and Teen Titans Academy will soon be concluded, you may want to be up-to-date with this two at least (especially with Suicide Squad).

As for The Flash, it’s now Wally West show and you can read about his return in:

Read More »War For Earth-3 Reading Order

Last Updated on March 3, 2023.