Skip to content

DC Icons Series: The Complete list of the DC Young Adult novels

  • by

In 2017, Warner Bros. and DC Entertainment partnered with Random House Books for Young Readers to publish young adult novels naturally set outside DC Comics’ main continuity. Those are coming-of-age stories centered on the characters when they are younger and discovering who they are and what it means to be a hero.

Those are all original stories, and not retellings of classic origin stories, written by some of the most famous young adult novel writers right now. And if this all began in the book format, some of those stories have also been adapted into graphic novels (it’s DC Comics after all!).

The DC Icons Series is one of the lines developed by DC Comics to attract a younger and new audience to the world of superhero comics and for them to become more familiar with those pop culture icons that everybody knows by name.

Below you’ll find a list of the DC Icons book series, with Batman, Catwoman, Wonder Woman, and more…

The DC Icons Series Reading Guide

All of those books/graphic novels are standalone works and can be read in no particular order.

The DC Icons Book Series

When the DC Icons Series for Young Adult Readers was announced, the four first titles were also revealed. The first book released was centered on Wonder Woman, or to be more precise on Diana, Princess of the Amazons who longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. 

It was followed by Batman: Nightwalker, telling the story of Bruce Wayne, a reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy; then Catwoman: Soulstealer, about Selina Kyle as Catwoman who finds herself entangled with Batwing. And of course, the last of the fourth book was about Clark Kent, who has secrets of his own and is also determined to discover what evil lies below the surface of Smallville.

The first three books in the DC Icons Series are available in a boxed set.

DC Icons continues after that with a YA origin story for Black Canary. Taking place in a near-future world where the Court of Owls has taken over Gotham and stropped women of everything, Dinah Lance’s voice is her weapon…

A trilogy in the DC Icons universe was launched, this time to explore the backstory of Harley Quinn to trace ‘Harleen’s journey from a precocious, revenge-obsessed teenage girl to a hardcore justice-seeker on her way to becoming the most captivating supervillain of all time.’

The DC Icons Graphic Novel Adaptation

The first three books have been adapted as graphic novels

DC Comics

What to read after DC Icons?

Want to continue to read more DC Stories? we invite you to check out the following guides:

Want to stay completely out of continuity and in the YA world? See our Complete list of the DC Comics Young Adult Graphic Novels!

Last Updated on July 21, 2023.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *