Skip to content

Tokyo Ghoul Manga Order

Tokyo Ghoul Manga Order

Our site is dedicated to American comics, but once in a while, we also wrote about European comic books. And now, we expand our horizons with our first manga order thanks to Tokyo Ghoul!

Written and illustrated by Sui Ishida, Tokyo Ghoul is a dark fantasy manga taking place in a world where Ghouls live among us. Ghouls are a cannibalistic humanoid race that can only eat human and other ghoul flesh. So, ghouls regularly attack humans to feed. The government tries to keep the situation under control with a special entity called the GCC and its investigators who specialize in exterminating ghouls.

Ken Kaneki was an ordinary college student with a passion for literature when a violent encounter turns him into the first half-human half-ghoul hybrid. Trapped between two worlds, he must survive Ghoul turf wars, learn more about Ghoul society and master his new powers.

Tokyo Ghoul Manga Order

Like many successful mangas, Tokyo Ghoul has seen its universe expanding with spin-off manga and novels, but has also been adapted into anime, live-action, and more. At this date, we are focused on the manga continuity, including the novels but the anime is not taken into account here as it is an alternate continuity.

Tokyo Ghoul Manga Listing

  • Tokyo Ghoul (2011-2014) – The original manga, with 14 volumes (143 chapters and a side story)
  • Tokyo Ghoul: Jack (2013-2015) – A spin-off prequel story with 1 volume (7 chapters)
  • Tokyo Ghoul:re (2014-2018) – The sequel manga, with 16 volumes (179 chapters, chapter 31.5, and single Chapter Tokyo Ghoul Joker)

Tokyo Ghoul Novels

Tokyo Ghoul, The original manga

The novel Tokyo Ghoul: Past and the manga Tokyo Ghoul: Jack both took place before the Tokyo Ghoul original manga, though it is not advised to read them here on your first reading.

Tokyo Ghoul Vol 5 Manga Order

After Chapters 45/46, you can read the spin-off prequel Tokyo Ghoul: Jack. The story is set years before the original manga and centered around Kishou Arima, a high school student by day and a ghoul investigator by night. This will serve as an introduction to some characters. You can also choose to read that story after chapter 79 (after having met those characters) or better, between the original manga and the sequel. Obviously, for a more chronological order, it is to read before the original manga, but it is not advised on a first reading.

Tokyo Ghoul re Vol 1 Manga Order

Tokyo Ghoul: re

After the end of the original manga, the story continues in the sequel Tokyo Ghoul: re. The Commission of Counter Ghoul is the only organization fighting the Ghoul menace, and they will use every tool at their disposal to protect humanity from its ultimate predator. Their newest weapon in this hidden war is an experimental procedure that implants human investigators with a Ghoul’s Kagune, giving them Ghoul powers and abilities. But both the procedure and the newly formed Qs Squad are untested. Will they become heroes…or monsters?!

The single Chapter Tokyo Ghoul Joker is included in volume 3 of Tokyo Ghoul:re, but you can read it between the original manga and the sequel.

Tokyo Ghoul re Vol 10 Manga Order

Last Updated on September 28, 2023.