Skip to content

Witchblade Reading Order

  • by

Marc Silvestri is one of the co-founders of Image Comics where he set up his own studio, Top Cow Productions. There was launched Witchblade in 1995, a comic book series created by Silvestri, editor David Wohl, writers Brian Haberlin and Christina, and the late artist Michael Turner. The success of Witchblade at the time helped Top Cop to expand and add new titles to its line.

And popular Witchblade was: the comic book was adapted into a television series in 2001, as well as an anime, a manga, and a novel in 2006. The comic book series lasted 20 years, coming to an end in 2015. It was relaunched a few years later, and the reboot ran from 2017 to 2020.

But what Witchblade is about? streetwise NY cop Sara Pezzini comes into possession of the mysterious Witchblade, a supernatural gauntlet, a weapon that bonds with a female host and provides her with a variety of power in order to fight supernatural evil. As the artifact’s bearer, Sara goes toe to toe with a Machiavellian industrialist, supernatural serial killers, and far worse, as the supernatural underworld of New York alters the course of her destiny forever.

As part of the Top Cow Universe, Witchblade also crossovers with The Darkness, Tomb Raider, but also Madgaelna, Evo, and more. She has also encountered Vampirella, Red Sonja as well as the JLA.

Witchblade Reading Order

The Complete Witchblade, The Original Series (1995-2015)

The Complete Witchblade is the latest collection from Image Comics, reprinting Witchblade from the beginning…

Witchblade Compendium

In 2006, Witchblade was reprinted in a Compendium format, which are huge volumes collecting every issue of the main Witchblade series in order. Two volumes can be found, collecting the 100 first issues of the series.

Witchblade Origins

Written by David Wohl, discover how NY police detective Sara Pezzini was first chosen by the mystical Witchblade to be its next bearer. Like with Spawn (see reading order), the “Witchblade Origins Collection” was launched in 2009 and reprinted the series from the beginning. Only three volumes were published before the collection stopped.

Want the Witchblade/Tom Raider team-ups all in one place? You can find the three issues collected in the trade paperback Tomb Raider/Witchblade: Trouble Seekers to relive those adventures.

The next 50 issues of Witchblade have not been well collected. Several issues have never been collected anywhere to my knowledge for the moment. We can hope that fact will change thanks to the ‘Complete Witchblade‘ collection. In the meantime, here’s a short list telling you where those issues have been collected (or not):

Witchblade, the Ron Marz era

A new era for Witchblade starts here with writer Ron Marz and artist Mike Choi giving new readers a perfect jumping-on point! Sara Pezzini awakens from a coma and begins anew with a new partner, a new precinct, and a new understanding of the Witchblade.

Witchblade: Redemption

Ron Marz continues his run on Witchblade with artist Stjepan Sejic, in a Redemption arc where Sara Pezzini must reclaim control of her life and her relationships.

Artifacts Event

This is a Top Cow Universe crossover! Separately, thirteen mystical Artifacts will guide the fate of the Universe. Together, thirteen Artifacts will end the Universe! When a mysterious antagonist kidnaps, Hope, the daughter of Sara Pezzini and Jackie Estacado, Armageddon is put into motion. Starring virtually every character in the Top Cow Universe.

Witchblade Rebirth Series (Tim Seeley)

Tim Seely took over creative duties and relocated Sara Pezzini from New York to Chicago where she struggles to adapt to being a private detective. Pezzini quickly discovers that a change of scenery and occupation hasn’t changed one thing… the Witchblade is still a magnet for the supernatural! Quickly drawn into a conflict between two mystical gangs, she must once again balance her responsibility as bearer of the Witchblade with her personal life.

Witchblade: Borne Again (Ron Marz)

For this last chapter leading us to the conclusion of the series, Ron Marz is back on the series, working with artist Laura Braga. Sara Pezzini has given up the Witchblade and taken up the life of a small-town Sheriff, but her past comes back haunting her in a deadly fashion.

Witchblade, the prequels

Explore the past with those stories about other wielders of the Witchblade throughout time, from Anne Bonny to Sheriff Enola of the Wild West!

Witchblade Crossovers

The Witchblade crossovers with Tom Raider are listed above, but Sara Pezzini met other comic book characters during all those years, and this is a listing of the Witchblade crossovers:

Spin-off: Witchblade Takeru

Witchblade: The Manga. This is the story of Takeru, a normal Japanese schoolgirl raised in a Buddhist monastery by nuns, who discovers a mysterious “Demon’s Claw” and is plunged into a frightening world of demons and combat along with her friend Kuo.

Previously collected in:

Witchblade: The Reboot Reading Order (2017-2020)

There’s the new Witchblade in town! Two years after the end of Witchblade, a reboot was launched at Top Cow. This time, this is Alex Underwood’s life that is turned upside down. Gunned down and left for dead on a New York rooftop, Alex Underwood’s life should have ended there—but instead, at the moment of death, she became host to the Witchblade, a mystical artifact that grants the woman wielding it extraordinary powers. But those powers come with a heavy cost, and Alex soon finds herself thrust into the center of an unseen battle raging on the snowy streets of NYC. By writer Caitlin Kittredge and artist Roberta Ingranata.

Last Updated on August 25, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *