Skip to content

X-Factor Reading Order

  • by

Launched in 1986 by Bob Layton and Jackson Guice as a spin-off from the X-Men franchise, X-Factor was a team formed by the five original X-Men – Angel, Beast, Cyclops, Jean Grey (Marvel Girl), and Iceman – in response to the outlaw status of the then-current X-Men team.

The five original members X-Men disassociate with the current team because Professor X had placed Magneto as its leader. Quickly, they decide to set up a business advertised as mutant-hunters for hire in New York City, pretending to be “normal” (non-superpowered) humans to their clients. Eventually, the X-Factor team decides that the “mutant hunter” angle was bad for everybody and stops. Louise Simonson took over the title (with art by Walt Simonson) and quickly introduced Apocalypse and other major elements of the X-Mythos.

At that time, the series was massively connected to the other X-Titles and events. In 1991, the original members of X-Factor rejoined the main X-Men team. Marvel didn’t kill the title though. Peter David became the main writer (with art by Larry Stroman) and began by reintroducing X-Factor with new members (with Havok, Multiple Man, Polaris, Quicksilver, Strong Guy, Valerie Cooper, and Wolfsbane).

Being part of the X-Men Universe, you can find how to read X-Force with the other X-series in our complete X-Men Reading Order.

X-Factor Reading Order

X-Factor Volume 1 (1986-1998)

A new way to collect X-Factor! In 2024, Marvel Comics will release the first issues of X-Factor Vol. 1 in Omnibus:

  • X-Factor: The Original X-Men Omnibus Vol. 1
    Collects Avengers (1963) #263; Fantastic Four (1961) #286; X-Factor (1986) #1-26; X-Factor Annual (1986) #1-2; Iron Man Annual (1970) #8; Amazing Spider-Man (1963) #282; Thor (1966) #373-374, 377-378; Power Pack (1984) #27, 35; Mephisto Vs. (1987) #2; Incredible Hulk (1968) #336-337; Classic X-Men (1986) #8, 43; Secret Wars II (1985) #5; material from Marvel Fanfare (1982) #40.

You can also find the first 60 issues from Volume 1 collected in the “Essential” collection, a black-and-white reprint collection.

  • Essential X-Factor Vol. 1
    Collects X-Factor #1–16, Annual #1; Avengers #263; Fantastic Four #286; The Mighty Thor #373–374; Power Pack #27 (black and white print)
  • Essential X-Factor Vol. 2
    Collects X-Factor #17–35, Annual #2; Thor #378
  • Essential X-Factor Vol. 3
    Collects X-Factor #36–50, Annual #3; Uncanny X-Men #242–243.
  • Essential X-Factor vol. 4
    Collects X-Factor #51–59, Annual #4–5; X-Factor: Prisoner of Love; Marvel Fanfare #50; material from Fantastic Four Annual # 23, New Mutants Annual #6, Uncanny X-Men Annual #14.
  • Essential X-Factor vol. 5
    Collects X-Factor #60–70, Annual #6; Uncanny X-Men #270–272, 280; material from Uncanny X-Men Annual #15, New Mutants #95–97, material from New Mutants Annual #7.


X-Factor Volume 2 (2002)

The “Volume 2” is just a miniseries about the government’s new Mutant Civil Rights Task Force written by Jeff Jensen with artwork by Arthur Ranson. 

X-Factor Volume 3 (2005-2013)

Volume 3 is also known as “X-Factor Investigations”. Coming from Peter David, it’s about a detective agency run by Jamie Madrox (aka Multiple Man) with his best friend and special enforcer, Guido Carosella (Strong Guy), and former teammate Rahne Sinclair (Wolfsbane). Then, when the fallout from the House of M depowers most of the world’s mutants, X-Factor must find answers fast Siryn, M and Rictor, and Layla Miller joined the team.

Also collected in…

Also collected in…

The “Secret Invasion” event had an impact on X-Factor. You can find the full reading order here.

In December 2009, the series adopted a cumulative numbering with issue #200.

All-New X-Factor (2014-2015)

New Series! All-New X-Factor is a new iteration of the X-Factor superhero team written by Peter David, a return to the corporate-sponsored version of the team that was the initial concept when the first version of X-Factor debuted in 1986.

Marvel Fresh Start

Not really an X-Factor series, but Jamie Madrox’s fan may want to read it to know what happened with him after Inhumans vs X-Men.

X-Factor Volume 4 (2020-2021)

Like all the other X-titles, X-Factor made its comeback during the Dawn of X era. In order to know more, take a look at the reading order. Mutants have conquered death! By the grace of the Five, the resurrection protocols of the island nation of Krakoa can bring any of the X-Men’s fallen comrades back to life. But such a huge enterprise comes with even bigger problems and complications! And when a mutant dies, X-Factor is there to investigate how and why – in order to uphold the rules of reincarnation!

  • X-Factor by Leah Williams – Volume 1
    Collects X-Factor (vol. 4) #1–3, 5.
  • X of Swords
    Collects X-Men #12, X of Swords: Creation #1, X-Factor #4, Wolverine #6, X-Force #13, Marauders #13, Hellions #5, New Mutants #13, Cable #5, Excalibur #13, X-Men #13, X of Swords: Stasis #1, X-Men #14, Marauders #14, Marauders #15, Excalibur #14, Wolverine #7, X-Force #14, Hellions #6, Cable #6, Excalibur #15, X-Men #15, X of Swords: Destruction #1.
  • X-Factor by Leah Williams – Volume 2
    Collects X-Factor (vol. 4) #6–10.

Last Updated on December 1, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *