Skip to content

X-Men Decimation Reading Order, the aftermath of House of M

  • by

Before Civil War and right after House of M, Marvel offered us another event, a smaller one. In fact, the goal of Decimation was to deal with the aftermath of House of M for the X-Men.

Here is the official synopsis of the event: It was the worst day in X-Men history. Now it’s the day after. The House of M is over, but the effects will be felt for the rest of their lives. How do the X-Men pick up the pieces in a world that has completely changed?

Plus: Something’s amiss at the House of Xavier! A sneak attack forces the X-Men to re-evaluate just who their friends are, and to align themselves with former enemies!

What to read before X-Men Decimation?

Being a direct follow-up to “House of M,” I recommend starting with that. You can find the full reading order of this event here. Also, for more X-Men, you can take a look at our X-Men Reading Order. Here for the bare minimum:

  • House of M Omnibus 
    Collects House of M #1-8, Spider-Man: House of M #1-5, Fantastic Four: House of M #1-3, Iron Man: House of M #1-3, New Thunderbolts (2004) #11, Black Panther (2005) #7, Uncanny X-Men (1981) #462-465, Wolverine (2003) #33-35, Captain America (2004) #10, Pulse (2004) #10, Cable & Deadpool #17, Incredible Hulk (2000) #83-87, New X-Men (2004) #16-19, Exiles (2001) #69-71, Mutopia X #1-5, Decimation: House of M – The Day After, Giant-Size Ms. Marvel (2006) #1, Secrets of the House of M, Pulse: House of M Special, House of M 1 Director’s Cut, House of M Sketchbook, material from Hulk: Broken Worlds Book One.

X-Men Decimation Reading Order

X-Men Decimation Reading Order: Collected Editions

X-Men Decimation Reading Order: Issue by issue

  • House of M: The Day After
  • Sentinel Squad O*N*E #1-5
  • X-Men (Vol. 2) #177-179
  • New X-Men (Vol. 2) #20-23
  • Son of M #1-6
  • X-Men: The 198 #1-5

  • Generation M #1-5
  • New Excalibur #1–3
  • X-Factor (Vol. 3) #1–3
  • Uncanny X-Men #466–468
  • Wolverine (Vol. 3) #36–40
  • X-Men: Deadly Genesis #1-6

After X-Men Decimation

Decimation was the beginning of a new era for the X-Men. It introduced the new status quo and helped launched multiple series. To know what to do next, got to the X-Men Reading Order.

It will lead you to the biggest of the big events of that time period, the famous Civil War. You can find here our full reading order of Civil War.

Last Updated on December 23, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *