Skip to content

Batman: Night of the Owls Reading Order, a Batfamily crossover event during New 52

  • by

New 52 was the beginning of a new era for Batman (see reading order), opening with the introduction of the Court of Owls, a mysterious group that run Gotham. Night of the Owls ia a direct following to that storyline.

Written by Scott Snyder, Night of The Owls pits the Batman and his allies against the Court of Owls organization as they attempt to cement their control over Gotham City, which they have been manipulating in secret for centuries.

As evil spreads across Gotham City, Batman’s allies, including Red Robin, Batwing, Robin, Batgirl, the Birds of Prey, Nightwing and even Catwoman find themselves in a battle coming from all sides. The Court of Owls have shown their hand, and it’s up to the collective effort of these heroes, some more unlikely than others, in this sprawling tale of corruption and violence.

What to read before Batman: Night of Owls?

  • Batman: Gates of Gotham (optional)
    Collects Batman: Gates of Gotham #1-5. Not necessary for comprehension, this is a sort of prequel to Court of Owls, where Snyder revisits Gotham history.
  • Batman: The Court of Owls
    Collects Batman Vol. 2 #1-7. The first arc in Snyder and Capullo’s run on Batman, and during which the Night of the Owls takes place, making it a necessary reading.

Batman: Night of the Owls Reading Order:

Batman: Night of Owls Reading Order: Collected Editions

  • Batman: Night of the Owls (The New 52)
    Collects Batman #8-11, Nightwing #8-9, All Star Western #9, Catwoman #9, Batgirl #9, Batman: Dark Knight #9, Batman and Robin #9, Birds of Prey #9, Red Hood and the Outlaws #9.

Or you can find all the Night of the Owls main and tie-in issues in those trades:

Batman: Night of the Owls Reading Order

Batman: Night of Owls Reading Order: Issue by Issue

  • All-Star Western vol. 3 #9 (optional)

All-Star Western takes place during the 1800s and shows that the Talons have been around Gotham for a long time, a point made in other issues. Also it concludes the past story arc before introducing the new one, making it a little bit confusing if you haven’t read the past issues. For this reason, despite the fact it is considered part of the Night of Owls event, we invite you to skip it.

  • Batman Vol. 2 #8
  • Red Hood and the Outlaws #8
  • Batwing #9
  • Batgirl vol. 4 #9
  • Batman and Robin Vol. 2 #9
  • Batman Vol. 2 #9
  • Red Hood and The Outlaws #9
  • Nightwing Vol. 3 #8
  • Nightwing Vol. 3 #9
  • Detective Comics Vol. 2 #9
  • Batman: The Dark Knight vol. 2 #9
  • Birds of Prey vol. 3 #9
  • Batman Annual Vol. 2 #1
  • Catwoman Vol. 4 #9

Batman: Night of the Owls Reading Order

The Aftermath or What to Read after Batman: Night of Owls?

Batman continues his fight against his enemies in Batman #10-11 collected in Batman Vol. 2: City of Owls, and a new series, Talon is launched during the third wave of the New 52.

Last Updated on June 16, 2022.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *