Skip to content

Kick-Ass Comics, a Reading Guide for the Mark Millar series (including Hit-Girl)

  • by

What would it look like to be a superhero in the real world? This is a question writer Mark Millar and artist John Romita Jr. explored in the famous Kick-Ass comic book series, originally published by Marvel Comics under the Icon Imprint, and later republished under Image Comics, between 2008 and 2019. The universe was expanded with two spin-off series, including one focusing on Hit-Girl. And it has been adapted by director Matthew Vaughn into a successful movie, followed by a less successful sequel.

But let’s go back to the beginning. Dave Lizewski is an ordinary New York teenage boy who loves superheroes. One day, he decides to cross the line, put on a costume, and become a vigilante. Soon enough, he discovers it’s very dangerous and way more real than what he reads in the comic book pages.

Despite the punch and the blood, his actions have some effects, inspiring others. And in his fight against crime, he meets the young Mindy McCready aka the ruthless Hit-Girl…

Kick-Ass Comics Reading Order

Kick-Ass Comics, The Dave Lizewski Years

To celebrate the tenth anniversary of Kick-Ass in 2018, a new edition was released collecting the first part of the Kick-Ass story under the name “The Dave Lizewski Years”.

Hit-Girl Worldwide

At the end of Kick-Ass, the pint-sized Punisher-meets-Polly-Pocket has left America behind and set off to serve justice around the world. These are her adventures, with each book told by a different creative team.

Season One

Season Two

Kick-Ass: The New Girl

Kick-Ass is back but who is Kick-Ass? Ten years after the first Kick-Ass, Mark Millar and John Romita Jr. launched the new chapter in the Kick-Ass story with a new figure wearing that famous green and yellow spandex. Most of the story is written by Steve Niles and penciled by Marcelo Frusin.

After Kick-Ass

You have finished reading Kick-Ass and you ask yourself what to read now. We invite you to check out those other comic books:

  • Nemesis – With artist Steve McNiven, Mark Millar asked this time what would it looks like if Batman was the bad guy. This is the story of a billionaire anarchist who causes chaos into the city.
  • Jupiter’s Legacy – Another series by Mark Millar, this time with artist Frank Quitely, who takes a more close interest in the notion of superheroes family.
  • The Boys – This is Garth Ennis and Darick Robertson deconstructing in their own way the superhero tropes before the television series loosely based on it became a hit for Amazon.
  • Invincible – Also a popular (animated) television series on Amazon, Invincible is Robert Kirkman’s celebration and violent take of the superhero tropes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *