Skip to content

Nubia Reading Order (Wonder Woman)

  • by

Introduced in 1973 in Wonder Woman #204, Nubia was created by writer Robert Kanigher and artist Don Heck. She is an Amazon, and DC Comics’ first Black woman superhero.

At first, Nubia was Wonder Woman‘s long-lost fraternal twin–she was raised by Mars the god of war as his weapon of destruction against the Amazons. Mars’ plan failed and Nubia only made a few appearances after that, then disappeared for 20 years!

When reintroduced during the Post-Crisis/Modern Age era in Wonder Woman (vol. 2) Annual #8 in 1999, she was renamed Nu’Bia and was charged to guard “Doom’s Doorway” a very long time ago. So long in fact that the Themyscirian Amazons assumed she had perished. It was a short comeback.

But now in the Infinite Frontier era, after appearing in Future State: Immortal Wonder Woman, Nubia is fully back. Reintroduced as an Amazonian champion tasked with guarding Doom’s Doorway, Nubia shortly became Queen of Amazons and starts sharing the title of Wonder Woman with Diana.

Nubia Reading Order

The introduction of Nubia

For her first adventures, Nubia only appeared in a few issues:

Nubia revealed her identity in Wonder Woman #204.

Nu’Bia during the Post-Crisis/Modern Age era

After two decades, Nubia is back. Now called Nu’Bia, she once again only appeared in a few issues:

  • Wonder Woman (vol. 2) Annual #8 – part of the JLApe: Gorilla Warfare crossover, not collected yet.
  • Wonder Woman (vol. 2) #154-155 – not collected yet.

Nubia during the Infinite Frontier era

After the events of the Dark Nights: Death Metal event, the DC Universe went through another soft reboot. But first, came Future State, a “possible future” of the DC Universe (go here for more information) marked by the introduction of the new Amazon Yara Flor and, of course, by the reintroduction of Nubia.

  • Future State: Wonder Woman
    Collects Future State: Wonder Woman #1-2, Future State: Superman/Wonder Woman #1-2, and Future State: Immortal Wonder Woman #1-2.

The new Infinite Frontier put Nubia under the spotlight, finally. Nubia becomes queen of Themyscira, but the new title also brings challenges. With the unexpected arrival of new Amazons, she is forced to reckon with her past and forge a new path forward for her sisters. Little does she know, a great evil grows beneath the island and it’s up to this former guardian of Doom’s Doorway to unite her tribe before paradise is lost forever!

The Trial of the Amazons starts here! For more details about this event, see our reading order.

  • Trial of the Amazons
    Collects Trial of the Amazons #1-2; Nubia and the Amazons #6; Wonder Woman #785-786; and Trial of the Amazons: Wonder Girl #1-2.
  • Nubia: Queen of the Amazons
    Collects tales from Nubia & the Amazons #1; Nubia: Coronation Special #1; and Nubia: Queen of the Amazons #1-4.
  • more to come…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *