Skip to content

The Walking Dead Comic Book Reading Order/Timeline, a Zombie post-apocalypse universe by Robert Kirkman

  • by

The Walking Dead Comic Book Reading Order

Created by writer Robert Kirkman and artist Tony Moore (for the first 6 issues), then drawn by Charlie Adlard for the remainder of the series, The Walking Dead is an American post-apocalyptic comic book series published by Image Comics.

The world we knew is gone. The world of commerce and frivolous necessity has been replaced by a world of survival and responsibility. An epidemic of apocalyptic proportions has swept the globe, causing the dead to rise and feed on the living. In a matter of months, society has crumbled: no government, no grocery stores, no mail delivery, and no cable TV. In a world ruled by the dead, the survivors are forced to finally start living.

The Walking Dead focuses on Rick Grimes, a Kentucky deputy who is shot in the line of duty and awakens from a coma in a zombie apocalypse that has resulted in a state-wide quarantine. After joining with some other survivors, he gradually takes on the role of leader of a community as it struggles to survive the zombie apocalypse.

The Walking Dead Comic Books in Order:

The following reading order includes the comics, the books, and the Telltale Games video games based on the series.

→ You can play The Walking Dead: Season One (Telltale) here.

→ You can play The Walking Dead: Season Two (Telltale) here.

→ You can play The Walking Dead: Season Three – A New Frontier (Telltale) here.

→ You can play The Walking Dead: Michonne here.

→ You can play The Walking Dead: Season Four – The Final Season (Telltale) here.

The Walking Dead Hardcovers Editions:

All hardcovers contain the contents of the comics, including the covers, and in some cases bonus material. The books’ trim size is larger than the paperbacks. Each hardcover contains two story arcs from the series.

The Walking Dead Omnibus Collections :

Limited omnibus editions collect roughly 24 issues in a slipcase with several extras.

The Walking Dead Omnibus Volume 1 Reading Order

The Walking Dead Compendiums

The Softcover compendium editions collect approximately 48 comic issues each.

  • Compendium One
    Collects issues #1-48 and the 6-page story from the Image Comics Holiday Special 2005.
  • Compendium Two
    Collects issues #49-96.

Other Books

  • The Walking Dead Survivors’ Guide: Collected Edition
    Everything you’ve ever wanted to know about the cast of The Walking Dead. The Survivor’s Guide is a handy checklist of all the characters who have appeared in the series thus far, alive or dead. This series is a can’t-miss supplement to the hit comic book series that is now a hit TV series on AMC!
  • The Walking Dead: Here’s Negan!
    Who is Negan? Since his debut in The Walking Dead #100, the charismatic psychopath has antagonized Rick Grimes, murdered his friend with a baseball bat wrapped in barb wire (which he calls “Lucille”), and led the Saviors into war against Alexandria and the neighboring communities. But who was he before society broke down? That question will be answered here, collecting the “HERE’S NEGAN!” story originally serialized in IMAGE+ magazine.
  • The Walking Dead 100 Project
    Robert Kirkman and Skybound team up with the Hero Initiative to present 100 all-new covers envisioning the horrors of the bestselling The Walking Dead.
  • The Walking Dead: All Out War Artist’s Proof Edition
    This special artist’s edition collects the monumental “All Out War” story arc all in one volume ― as seen through artist Charlie Adlard’s raw pencils.

Last Updated on April 7, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *