Skip to content

Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Oz, a Comic Reading Order from the Zenescope Universe

  • by

We’re not in Kansas anymore! We’re in the Grimm Fairy Tales universe from Zenescope, where authors and artists explore classic fairy tales with modern twists, sexy covers, and some gore inside.

Taking inspiration from L. Frank Baum’s children’s book, Oz is one of the realms of the Grimm Fairy Tales universe, alongside Myst, Neverland, Wonderland, and Earth. But this is not the Land of Oz from the books and the movie, as Dorothy is not some ordinary farm girl from Kansas.

If the following books take place in the Zenescope universe where you can also meet Robyn Hood and Van Helsing, they do not really connect to the others.

Grimm Fairy Tales presents Oz Reading Order

The Oz Trilogy

Zenescope goes to explore Oz with a modern take on the story with this trilogy. The Witches of OZ are searching for a lost weapon of power known as the Veridian Scepter. Their quest leads them to the most unlikely of places…the farmlands of Kansas and the home of the unlikeliest of heroes:… Dorothy Gale.

The following stories take place after the Oz trilogy, but before the follow-up story, Heart of Magic:

  • Oz: Age of Darkness
    This is an Age of Darkness tie-in (crossover event in the Grimm Fairy Tales universe) offering a glimpse of the future.
  • Oz: The Wizard
    One-Shot Taking place before Heart of Magic.
  • Oz: On The Run
    An 8 page-story taking place before Heart of Magic included in Grimm Universe Presents 2019.

The Prequel: Tales from Oz

Published in parallel to the Oz trilogy, those tales from OZ explore the characters’ backgrounds and actions. It’s a complimentary reading, so it’s better to read those stories before or during the Oz Trilogy, mostly after the first volume.

Zenescope also published a prequel one-shot about the Warlord:

The Follow-up: Heart of Magic

Heart of Magic is a sequel to Oz: Reign of the Witch Queen, taking place after the one-shots Oz: The Wizard and Oz: On The Run.

Dorothy is on the run through increasingly forbidding lands, with the very heart of the realm itself on the line. Will she be able to protect herself and more importantly the people who rely on her?

Oz: New Adventures

Dorothy and her allies are living new adventures! They first must venture far from the Emerald City in search of the missing Tin Man in Kingdom of the Emerald City, then must discover why the fallen of Oz and Earth begin to return to the lands of the living before the Emerald City falls forever.

Last Updated on May 16, 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *