Skip to content

Original Sin Reading Order, A Marvel Crossover Event: Who Shot The Watcher?

  • by

Original Sin Reading Order

Written by Jason Aaron with art by Mike Deodato, Original Sin is a Marvel Crossover Event published from April to September 2014. The story began when Uatu, the mysterious space-god who’s been watching mankind from the moon for as long as we can remember … is found dead. But who shot the Watcher?

As the official synopsis reveals, Nick Fury takes the lead of the murder investigation. With the help of the heroes of the Marvel Universe, he must quickly find answers as other forces are marshaling and other questions are arising. Such as why is Black Panther gathering a secret team of his own, including Emma Frost, the Punisher and Dr. Strange? Who is the Unseen? What was stolen from the Watcher’s lair? Fury’s cosmic manhunt leads to the far corners of the universe and beyond, but just when the Avengers think they’ve cornered their murderer … everything explodes, unleashing the Marvel Universe’s greatest secrets and rocking the heroes to their core! What did the Watcher see? What was the Original Sin?

What to read before Original Sin?

The Original Sin event was not one of those long-prepared universe-shattering crossover. In fact, it started quite suddenly. The only thing you’ll need to read is the “Behold the Watcher” story from Point One #1 (collected with the rest of the event).

Original Sin Reading Order

Original Sin Reading Order: The Collected editions

  • Original Sin
    Collects Point One #1 (Watcher story); Original Sin #0-8, Annual 1; Original Sins #1-5, Original Sin: Secret Avengers Infinite Comic #1-2.
  • Original Sin Companion
    Collects Avengers #29-34; Deadpool #29-34; Mighty Avengers #10-12; All-New Invaders #6-7; Nova #18-20; Original Sin #3.1-3.4, 5.1-5.5; Fantastic Four #6-8, Daredevil #6-7; Amazing Spider-Man #4-5; Uncanny X-Men #23-25; Guardians of the Galaxy #18-20; Original Sin: Secret Avengers Infinite Comic #1-2.

Original Sin Reading Order omnibus

If you don’t want to buy the expansive and massive Original Sin Companion, here is the list of the collected editions in which you’ll find the tie-ins:

Original Sin Reading Order Operation S.I.N. Agent Carter

Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 4 - Original Sin Reading Order

Original Sin Reading Order: Issue by issue

As with most of Marvel’s crossovers, Original Sin is quite confusing. The Best way to read it is probably to begin with the main event, and once you know the main story, read the tie-ins. If you don’t like to do that, know that most of the tie-ins are not connected together and can mostly be read separately. That said, events taking place in Hulk vs. Iron Man, Thor & Loki: The Tenth Realm and Fantastic Four must be read before Avengers #29 in order to limit the confusion. For the rest, do as you like.

  • Marvel Point One #1
  • Original Sin #0
  • Original Sin #1
  • Mighty Avengers #10
  • Original Sin #2
  • Original Sin #3.1-3.4 (aka Original Sin: Hulk vs. Iron Man)
  • Original Sin #5.1-5.5 (aka Original Sin: Thor & Loki: The Tenth Realm)
  • Fantastic Four #6-8
  • Avengers #29-34

Avengers Volume 6 Infinite Avengers - Original Sin Reading Order

  • Deadpool #29-34
  • Mighty Avengers #10-12
  • Amazing Spider-Man #4-5
  • All-New Invaders #6-7
  • Daredevil #6-7
  • Nova #18-20
  • Original Sin: Secret Avengers Infinite Comic #1-2
  • Uncanny X-Men #23-25
  • Guardians of the Galaxy #18-20
  • Original Sin #3
  • Original Sins #1-4
  • Original Sin #4
  • Original Sin #5
  • Original Sin #6
  • Original Sins #5
  • Original Sin #7
  • Original Sin #8
  • Original Sin Annual #1

Original Sin Reading Order

After Original Sin?

Technically not part of Jason Aaron’s run on Thor – more than 7 years that will lead you to War of Realms (see our reading order) – Original Sin still plays an important part in Thor Odison story. After the event, you’ll want to read Thor: Goddess of Thunder.

You can also learn a little bit more about Uatu The Watcher Who Does More Than Watching.

Last Updated on January 20, 2024.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *