Skip to content

The Batman Who Laughs Reading Order (the breakout character of DC Comics’ Dark Nights Metal)

Batman Who Laughs Reading Order

Created by Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo in 2017, Batman Who Laughs was the breakout star of Dark Nights: Metal. This evil version of Bruce Wayne comes from Earth-22 of the Dark Multiverse.

Presented as Batman’s worst nightmare, he is a sort of hybrid of Batman and Joker. He is stripped of all sense of ethics, with Bruce Wayne’s intelligence and physical strength and the Joker’s psychopathy and warped, sadistic sense of humor. Without surprise, he has no problem killing people.

When Batman Who Laughs is introduced, he is a member of The Dark Knights, a team he assembled for Barbatos who wants to destroy the regular Multiverse.

This reading order gives you a listing to discover his story.

The Batman Who Laughs Reading Order

Reading about The Batman Who Laughs means reading the event Dark Nights: Metal. Batman can’t pass on a good and dangerous mystery involving in this case divine metals that Bruce has encountered over the years.

It leads him to discover the existence of a dark multiverse connected to the DC multiverse, but also to release seven evil versions of himself from the dark multiverse, one of them being The Batman Who Laughs.

Don’t forget to check out our Dark Nights: Metal reading order to have the order issue by issue.

  • Dark Nights Metal DC Comics Events and CrossoversDark Nights: Metal
    Collects Dark Nights: Metal #1-6, and Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1 and Batman Lost #1.
  • Dark Nights: Metal: The Resistance
    Collects “Gotham Resistance” (Teen Titans #12, Nightwing #29, Suicide Squad #26, Green Arrow #32) and “Bats Out Of Hell” (The Flash #33, Justice League #32-33, Hal Jordan and The Green Lantern Corps #32), plus Batman Lost #1 and Hawkman Found #1.
  • Dark Nights: Metal: Dark Knights Rising
    Collects the seven Dark Nights: Batman tie-in one-shots and Dark Knights Rising: The Wild Hunt #1, including The Batman Who Laughs #1, an issue that details the origin of the Batman Who Laughs

All those stories are now available in the Dark Nights: Metal Omnibus.

Batman who laughs Icon Reading Order

Following the events of Dark Nights: Metal, you can discover what happens to The Batman Who Laughs in Justice League, and then follow him in his own series, dealing with his attempt to kill Batman.

  • Justice League #8
    Collected in Justice League Vol. 2: Graveyard of Gods.

The Batman Who Laughs Vol 1 TPB - The Batman Who Laughs Reading Order

The Infected! Part of The Year of The Villain, The Infected (don’t forget to check out the reading order!) follows Batman and Superman investigating the nefarious activities of The Batman Who Laughs, who has infected six heroes to be part of his own Secret Six!

Hell Arisen is the conclusion of the Year of The Villain, in which The Batman Who Laughs and Lex Luthor are fighting against each other.

All that has been happening is culminating towards an ending, with the sequel to Dark Nights: Metal where the Justice League finds themselves at the mercy of the Batman Who Laughs. For the whole event, consult our Dark Nights: Death Metal reading order.

Last Updated on December 23, 2022.