Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order, Dark Knight’s stories from the New 52 to Rebirth, Metal and beyond

  • Fabien 

Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.
Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order,

After Grant Morrison famous run on Batman ended in 2011 (reading order here), came the New 52 and Scott Snyder. With stories about The Court of Howls, Batman Eternal, the Dark Nights: Metal & Death Metal events and more, Snyder became one of the major authors of the decade.

Mostly working with artist Greg Capullo and writer James Tynion IV, Scott Snyder gave us one of the best Batman and a lot of great adventures. The impact of his work on the character is important and there are a lot of great stories to read, so here is the guide.

Also, even if this reading guide covers a lot of New 52 Batman, it’s not a full reading order for this era. For Snyder and everyone else’s Bat-titles reading order, follow that guide.

Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order:

Batman by Scott Snyder: Before the New 52

Like Grant Morrison did before him, Scott Snyder didn’t begin writing Batman with the main series. He worked on two stories:

Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order

Batman by Scott Snyder: The New 52

This is when Scott Snyder became the main writer on the Batman series, working with Greg Capullo on 52 issues. You don’t have to read Grant Morrison’s run. In fact, it’s the perfect entry point for new readers, and you can also look here to learn more about The Court of Owls.

Batman by Scott Snyder Reading OrderBatman: The Night of the Owls Collects all of the tie-ins. Most of them take place after Batman #8, but some will spoil the ending. Better to read the book after. A full reading order is here.
Collects Batman #8-9, Batman Annual #1, Detective Comics #9, Batman: The Dark Knight #9, Batwing #9, Batman and Robin #9, Red Hood and the Outlaws #9, Birds of Prey #9, Batgirl #9, Nightwing #8-9, and All-Star Western #9.

Joker Batman New 52 Reading OrderWhat’s coming next is another event called Death of the Family. You can read here the full Death of the Family Reading Order.

Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order

The Riddler Batman New 52 Reading OrderZero Year is a prequel storyline (read the full Batman: Zero Year Reading Order) that was published after the Death of the Family storyline. The story takes place a few years before The Court of Owls. You can read it here or at another moment before. As usual, the trade collecting the tie-ins put together all of the issues, whatever their order. Some contains spoilers, it’s preferable to read it after, but if it doesn’t bother you, you can read it before Dark City.

Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order

Batman Icon Reading OrderAs part of the 75th anniversary celebration of Batman, Batman Eternal was introduced as a year-long weekly limited series written by Scott Snyder, James Tynion IV, Ray Fawkes, Kyle Higgins, and Tim Seeley.

Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order

Batman by Scott Snyder: DC You

Spinning out of the Convergence event, the DC You was a new direction that was about putting “story over continuity,” a way to allow more freedom in the storytelling. It was not a full-blown reboot. Many notable characters also underwent status quo changes.

Omnibus Editions

Some of those stories are also collected in omnibus form. Here is a listing:Batman by Scott Snyder & Greg Capullo Omnibus

Batman by Scott Snyder Reading Order

Batman by Scott Snyder: Rebirth

From that point on, Tom King is writing the Batman series, but Scott Snyder still wrote Batman in other series. The first one is All-Star Batman in which Batman finds himself trying to help old friend Harvey Dent…now known as the villainous Two-Face!

Batman who laughs Icon Reading OrderDark Nights: Metal – Big Event Alert. Beyond our universe, there is the Multiverse … and beneath the Multiverse is a nightmare realm where every fear that has ever been felt on our Earth becomes reality. Now an evil force as old as time wants to drag us down into the shadows, into the realm of never-ending terror. You can find the reading order here.

Batman by Scott Snyder: DC Universe

Justice League - Batman by Scott Snyder Reading OrderIn the aftermath of Dark Nights: Metal, the DC Universe changed a little bit. Mostly, it was the end of the Rebirth era. At that point, Scott Snyder took charge of the main Justice League series, featuring Batman, of course, but also Superman, Wonder Woman, Flash (Barry Allen), Aquaman, Hawkgirl, Cyborg, Martian Manhunter, and Green Lantern (John Stewart).

Batman who laughs Icon Reading OrderDark Nights: Death Metal – Big Event Alert. BWhen the DC Universe is enveloped by the Dark Multiverse, the Justice League is at the mercy of the Batman Who Laughs. Humanity struggles to survive in a hellish landscape twisted beyond recognition, while Batman, Wonder Woman, and Superman have all been separated and must fight to survive. You can find the reading order here.

See also our reading order dedicated to The Batman Who Laughs.

Last Updated on November 17, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *