Skip to content

Batman By Grant Morrison Reading Order

Batman by Grant Morrison Reading Order

After Infinite Crisis and before Scott Snyder’s run, at the end of what is called the “Modern Age” or the “Post-Crisis era“, Grant Morrison was in command of Batman and wrote one of the most celebrated (debated?) runs on the character. He looked back in the past to build the future of the Caped Crusader. During his time on the book, from 2006 to 2013, he created Damian Wayne – and you can find more information about that here – and took the Dark Knight from the brink of death to the edge of madness.

Starting from issue #655, Grant Morrison wrote a long-form story interrupted by events (important one for the era) and launched new series, most notably Batman and Robin and Batman Incorporated. At some point, Morrison took a break (Judd Winick and Tony Daniel wrote Batman for a short period of time) and came back to lead us to The New 52. It’s not that complicated.

What to read before Grant Morrison’s Batman?

You can take a look at our Batman: Modern Age Reading Order, but you can start fresh with this run – if you want to fully enjoy your read, there’s a book you can check out. It’s collecting stories that inspired Grant Morrison’s epic saga:

  • Batman: The Black Casebook
    Collects Batman #65, 86, 112, 113, 134, 156 And 162, Detective Comics #215, 235, 247 And 267, And World’s Finest Comics #89.

Also, not connected to his run, Grant Morrison wrote notable Batman stories before that are worth a read:

Batman By Grant Morrison Reading Order:

The Omnibus Collection

The easiest way to read Grant Morrison’s run on Batman is probably with the omnibus collection. It only collects Morrison’s writing, but there are some explications here and there to fill the blanks.

And now, the detailed reading order:

This is the part collected in Batman by Grant Morrison Omnibus Vol. 1.

Batman By Grant Morrison Reading OrderWritten by Grant Morrison, the Final Crisis event (full reading order here) took place during Batman R.I.P. Using the soul-destroying Anti-Life Equation, Darkseid is remaking the heroes, villains, and everyday people of Earth in his dark image…and destroying the very fabric of reality itself in the process. Now superheroes from around the world–and across the Multiverse–must make a last, desperate stand against the forces of Anti-Life.

or… with more tie-ins:

  • Final Crisis Omnibus
    Collects Batman #676-683, #701-702, Birds Of Prey #118, Dc Universe #0, Dc Universe: The Last Will And Testament #1, Final Crisis #1-7, Final Crisis: Legion Of 3 Worlds #1-5, Final Crisis: Requiem #1, Final Crisis: Resist #1, Final Crisis: Revelations #1-5, Final Crisis: Rogues’ Revenge #1-3, Final Crisis: Secret Files #1, Final Crisis: Submit #1, Final Crisis: Superman Beyond #1-2, The Flash #240-241, Justice League Of America #21, Superman/Batman #76, Teen Titans #59-60 And Terror Titans #1-6.

Batman By Grant Morrison Reading Order

At this point, Bruce Wayne is “dead.” The story will continue with a new Batman in Batman and Robin. But who will be this new Batman? The answer is in this optional read if you only want Grant Morrison’s Batman. This event written by Tony Daniel features the battle to take on the Mantle of the Bat. Who has earned the right? Who thinks they deserve it? Robin? Nightwing? Jason Todd? Two-Face? Catwoman? Batgirl?

Batman and Robin - Batman By Grant Morrison Reading Order

Batman and Robin! There’s a new Dynamic Duo in town. Dick Grayson, the original Robin, has taken up the cape and cowl of his former partner, and Damian Wayne has become a deadly new Robin. Together, this masked Odd Couple must stop a rising tide of villainy whose savagery and brutality are unlike anything Gotham City has ever seen.

This is where Morrison stopped writing Batman and Robin. The series continued with the optional Batman and Robin: Dark Knight vs White Night, written by Paul Cornell, Pete Tomasi and Judd Winick. Then with Batman and Robin Volume 2, Peter J. Tomasi became the main writer on the series.

This is the part collected in Batman by Grant Morrison Omnibus Vol. 2.

 The third installment of Grant Morrison’s run on Batman started just before New 52 with the first series of Batman Incorporated:

Batman New 52 - Batman By Grant Morrison Reading Order

New 52! At that point, Grant Morrison was not the main Batman writer anymore. He still wrote one series: Batman Incorporated. As we said, he started before entering the New 52 era, but that didn’t stop him from continuing his Leviathan story. If you want to know more about Batman New 52, there’s a guide here.

This is the part collected in Batman by Grant Morrison Omnibus Vol. 3.

What to read after Batman By Grant Morrison?

Even before the end of Batman Incorporated, Grant Morrison was not the main Bat-writer anymore. Since the end of The Modern Age/Post-Crisis era, DC Comics soft rebooted its universe more than once. But nothing can stop The Batman in his fight against Gotham’s criminals. If you want to continue, here are the orders:

  1. Batman New 52 Reading Order, from The Court of Owls to the end of the DC You
    • If you only want Scott Snyder’s Batman, it’s here.
  2. Batman Rebirth Reading Order, From the Monster Men to Batman’s Wedding, City of Bane, The Joker War, and more.

We also wrote reading orders for NightwingJason Todd/Red HoodCassandra Cain/BatgirlDamian WayneAzrael, and Catwoman. More to come.

Last Updated on February 18, 2024.