Skip to content

Empyre Reading Order, an Avengers/Fantastic Four Marvel event

  • by

Marvel Empyre Reading Order

The first big event of the 2020s. It’s an Avengers/Fantastic Four one that takes us on the Moon, beyond, and back on Earth. And here is the official synopsis for the event written by Al Ewing and Dan Slott with art by Valerio Schiti. Old allies make a distress call to the Avengers with news of a terrible enemy that could wipe out humanity. Meanwhile, in the most unlikely of places, the Fantastic Four witness the final conflict of the Kree/Skrull War — and a long-hidden Elder of the Universe stands revealed! With the Kree and Skrulls united under a new emperor, their war fleet charts a course — for Earth!

The Avengers are ready to fight, while the Fantastic Four seek a diplomatic solution. But if they can’t work together, the world may not survive. Either way, both teams will be tested as never before! The new Marvel Space Age begins here!

What to read before Empyre?

The history of the Kree and Skrulls War is quite long, going back to the classic Avengers story “Kree-Skrull War” written by Roy Thomas with art by Sal Buscema and Neal Adams, and the “Celestial Madonna Saga” written by Steve Englehart with art by John and Sal Buscema, Don Heck, Dave Cockrum, and George Tuska.

For the Empyre, it’s probably not necessary to go back this far. All you need to know is in the Empyre Handbook. For more stories, you can also take a look at the Meet The Skrulls miniseries written by Robbie Thompson with art by Niko Henrichon. If you want to know more about the character Huckling, you can read the 2005 Young Avengers series written by Allan Heinberg with art by Jim Cheung.

Empyre Reading Order

Note: Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, this event is a lot smaller than it was supposed to be. A lot of tie-ins were canceled, such as the miniseries about Spider-Man, Ghost Rider, Thor, Stormranger, Squadron Supreme, or even Thor.

The Empyre Collected Edition

  • Empyre Omnibus
    Collects Incoming #1; Road to Empyre: The Kree/Skrull War #1; Empyre #0 Avengers, Fantastic Four; Empyre #1-6; Empyre Aftermath: Avengers #1; Empyre Fallout: Fantastic Four #1; Lords of Empyre: Emperor Hulkling #1, Celestial Messiah #1, Swordsman #1; Empyre: X-Men #1-4, Savage Avengers #1, Captain America #1-3, Avengers #1-3; X-Men (2019) #10-11; Fantastic Four (2018) #21-23; Captain Marvel (2019) #18-21; Immortal She-Hulk #1; Web of Venom: Empyre’s End #1; Black Panther and the Agents of Wakanda #7-8; Empyre Handbook #1.

  • Road to Empyre
    Collects Incoming #1, Road To Empyre: The Kree/Skrull War #1, Empyre Handbook #1.
  • Empyre
    Collects Empyre: Avengers #0, Empyre: Fantastic Four #0, Empyre #1-6, Empyre Epilogue.
  • Empyre: Lords of Empyre
    Collects Lords Of Empyre: Emperor Hulkling #1, Lords Of Empyre: Celestial Messiah #1, Lords Of Empyre: Swordsman #1, Empyre: Squadron Supreme #1-2.
  • Fantastic Four Vol. 6: Empyre
    Collects Fantastic Four (2018) #20-24.
  • Empyre: Avengers
    Collects Empyre: Avengers #1-3, Empyre: Savage Avengers #1.
  • Empyre: X-Men
    Collects Empyre: X-Men #1-4.

Empyre Reading Order

Issue by Issue

The Road to Empire

  • Incoming #1
  • Road to Empyre: The Kree/Skrull War #1
  • Empyre: Avengers #0
  • Empyre: Fantastic Four #0
  • Lords of Empyre: Emperor Hulkling
  • Lords Of Empyre: Swordsman


  • Empyre #1
  • Fantastic Four #21-22
  • Empyre #2
  • Lords of Empyre: Celestial Messiah
  • Empyre: Avengers #1-2
  • Empyre: X-Men #1-4
  • Captain Marvel #18-21
  • Empyre #3
  • Empyre: Captain America #1-3
  • Empyre: Savage Avengers #1
  • X-Men #10
  • Empyre #4
  • Empyre: Avengers #3
  • Empyre #5
  • Empyre #6
  • Fantastic Four #23
  • X-Men #11

The Aftermath of Empyre

  • Empyre: Fallout Fantastic Four #1
  • Empyre: Aftermath Avengers #1
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 6 #7-8
  • Immortal She-Hulk #1
  • Web of Venom: Empyre’s End #1

Empyre Reading Order

What to read after Empyre?

The Web of Venom: Empyre’s End #1 connects those events to the next big crossover, The King in Black (Reading Order). Also, written by Al Ewing, the Guardians of the Galaxy is affected by the conclusion of the Empyre event starting from the #7 issue. Also written by Al Ewing, but in the X-Men Universe, the story continues in S.W.O.R.D. #1.

Last Updated on April 8, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *