Skip to content

New Mutants Reading Order (The X-Men)

  • by

With Chris Claremont at the helm, the X-Men became big business for Marvel Comics in the ’80s. Marvel editor-in-chief Jim Shooter decided to expand the franchise with a spin-off call The New Mutants. Claremont was a bit reluctant to do it at first, but the series will soon—with the arrival of artist Bill Sienkiewicz (Bob McLeod was the artist at the beginning)—become something different and a real success.

But what New Mutants is about? Here is the official synopsis of the beginning of the series. Meet the future of the X-Men! Karma. Wolfsbane. Sunspot. Cannonball. Moonstar. They’re teenagers, thrown together by the X-gene that makes them different. Follow the adventures of these young mutants from Karma’s first meeting with Spider-Man and the Fantastic Four to their early days at the Xavier School!

The New Mutants’ on-the-job training begins in earnest with battles against Sentinels, the Silver Samurai, Viper, and the Hellfire Club; a team-up with Spidey and Cloak and Dagger — and the team gets a taste of life as X-Men in a disturbing encounter with the Brood! Plus: Meet fiery new recruit Magma, and discover how Colossus’s sister, Illyana, became the demon sorceress known as Magik!

Being part of the X-Men Universe, you can find how to read the New Mutants with the other X-series in our complete X-Men Reading Order.

The New Mutants Reading Order

The New Mutants, Volume 1

The New Mutants Omnibus

First, let’s take a look at the omnibus editions. Of course, if you don’t get them quickly, it will soon be hard to find them.

  • New Mutants Omnibus, Volume 1
    Collects The New Mutants #1–34, Annual #1; Marvel Graphic Novel #4; Marvel Team-Up Annual #6; Marvel Team-Up #100 (A story), #149; Uncanny X-Men #160, #167, #180, #189, #192; Magik #1-4.
  • New Mutants Omnibus, Volume 2
    Collects The New Mutants #35–54, Annual #2-3; New Mutants Special Edition #1; X-Men Annual #9-10; Power Pack #20, #33; Fallen Angels #1-8; Firestar #1-4; New Mutants: War Children #1; Material from Web of Spider Man Annual #2
  • New Mutants Omnibus Vol. 3
    Collects New Mutants (1983) #55-85, New Mutants Annual (1984) #4, Spellbound (1988) #4, Power Pack (1984) #40, Uncanny X-Men (1981) #231, X-Terminators (1988) #1-4, material from Marvel Comics Presents (1988) #22, Marvel Fanfare (1982) #55, Marvel Super-Heroes (1990) #1, X-Men: Odd Men Out One-Shot (2008)

The first two Epic Collection volumes don’t fit well with the rest, you may want to get the Classic edition instead.

Starting with New Mutants #55, Louise Simonson is the new head writer of the series – with art by Bret Blevins.

New Mutants #55-85 are connected to bigger X-Men events and are also collected in the next books:

  • X-Men: Fall of the Mutants Omnibus
    Collects Uncanny X-Men #220–227; New Mutants #55–61; X-Factor #18–26; Captain America #339; Daredevil #252; Fantastic Four #312; Incredible Hulk (vol. 2) #340; Power Pack #35.

  • X-Men: Inferno Prologue
    Collects The New Mutants #62–70, Annual #4; Uncanny X-Men #228–238, Annual #12; X-Factor #27–32, Annual #3; Material from Marvel Age Annual #4; Marvel Fanfare #40.
  • X-Men Milestone: Inferno
    Collects X-Terminators #1-4, Uncanny X-Men #239-243, X-Factor #35-39, New Mutants #71-73

    • X-Men: inferno Omnibus
      Collects X-Factor #33-40; X-Terminators #1-4; Uncanny X-Men #239-243; New Mutants #71-73; Power Pack #40, #42-44; Avengers #298-300; Fantastic Four #322-324; Amazing Spider-Man #311-313; Spectacular Spider-Man #146-148; Web of Spider-Man #47-48; Daredevil #262-263, 265; Excalibur #6-7; Mutant Misadventures of Cloak and Dagger #4, material from X-Factor Annual #4.
  • Acts of Vengeance Crossovers Omnibus
    Collects X-Factor #49–50; Wolverine #19–20; Uncanny X-Men #256–258; Fantastic Four #334–336; Dr. Strange, Sorcerer Supreme #11–13; Incredible Hulk #363; Punisher #28–29; Punisher War Journal #12–13; Marc Spector: Moon Knight #8–10; Daredevil #275–276; Power Pack #53; Alpha Flight #79–80; New Mutants #84–86; Damage Control #1–4; and Web of Spider-Man #64–65.

This is, with issue #100, the end of the first volume of The New Mutants. The title was canceled in 1991 but the new team formed by Cable continued in X-Force (see reading order), a series that would continue until 2002, and feature a variety of the former New Mutants cast.

The New Mutants, Volume 2

The New Mutants series was relaunched in 2003 with the volume 2, this time written by Nunzio DeFilippis and Christina Weir. The series would continue for 13 issues before being relaunched as New X-Men: Academy X in July 2004. It is part of the X-Men: Modern Era.

The New Mutants, Volume 3:

The third volume of The New Mutants begins here, taking place after the limited series X-Infernus. The team is a reunion of the cast from the first volume, consisting of Cannonball, Karma, Magik, Magma, Dani Moonstar and Sunspot.

From New Mutants, vol. 3 #25 to #50, with tie-ins, the series was in the hand of Dan Abnett and Andy Lanning and you can find all of their work collected in two volumes:

With the New Mutants movie, Marvel decided to publish a miniseries called Dead Souls … and the movie was delayed for a long time.

The New Mutants, Volume 4:

We are now in what is called the Jonathan Hickman’s X-Men era. Starting with the miniseries House of X/Power of X, the superstar author relaunched the X-Universe in a new direction. There’s the main X-Men series of course, but also a lot of spin-offs like volume 4 of The New Mutants. The series was written by Jonathan Hickman and Ed Brisson, and drawn by Rod Reis, then Vita Ayala took over.

For a more detailed reading order of Hickman’s X-Men, follow the guide.

Last Updated on November 30, 2023.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *