Skip to content

Spider-Punk Reading Order (Hobie Brown)

Artist Olivier Coipel created the design of Spider-Punk to be for Spider-UK. Writer Dan Slott rejected it for being “too punk”, but the design was too popular to be ignored and a new character was born.

Spider-Punk made his debut in The Amazing Spider-Man #10 (January 2015). He is the Spider-Man of Earth-138, but he is not Peter Parker. Behind the mask hides teenager Hobart ‘Hobie’ Brown who fights for freedom on his Earth. He became a Spider-Totem following the classic bite by a spider that was irradiated by OsCorp’s illegal waste dumping.

He was recruited by Superior Spider-Man to be part of the army of Spider-Men during the first Spider-Verse, where some other Spiders called him Spider-Punk, a nickname Hobie disliked at first.

Since then, Hobie lived several adventures and found its way into other media. He appeared in the video games Spider-Man Unlimited and Marvel Strike Force, and made a cameo in an episode of Ultimate Spider-Man. More importantly, he is set to appear in Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse, voiced by Daniel Kaluuya.

It’s now time to become more familiar with another member of the Spider-Verse with this Spider-Punk Reading Order!

Spider-Punk Reading Order

As said above, Spider-Punk is introduced during the famous Spider-Verse event, an event full of Spiders! The Spider-People of the multiverse must become allies in order to fight the Inheritors who feed on the energy of the spiders and Hobie appears mostly in Amazing Spider-Man. This is an important event in the world of Spider-Men, so check out our full reading order of the event!

  • Spider-verse
    Collects Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #7-15, Superior Spider-Man #32-33, Spider-Verse #1-2, Spider-Verse Team-Up #1-3, Scarlet Spiders #1-3, Spider-Woman (2014) #1-4, Spider-Man 2099 (2014) #6-8 And Material From Free Comic Book Day 2014 (Guardians Of The Galaxy) #1.

Following the events of Spider-Verse, members of the Web-Warriors (Spider-Men, Women and Pig) travel the web in order to safeguard worlds that have been left without their Spiders. Hobart came to visit the group to ask for their help to stop an invasion.

A follow-up to Spider-Verse, Spider-Geddon deals with the Inheritors’ return. Hobie is recruited to play his part in this new Spider disaster. Check out our full reading order here.

There’s Anarchy in the Spider-Verse! Hobie Brown is finally the star of his own series where Spider-Punk and his gang has to deal with the chaos created by Norman Osborn and much more.

Coming soon: The End of the Spider-Verse!

Last Updated on June 7, 2023.