Skip to content

The Amazing Spider-Man by Dan Slott Reading Order

During the first Civil War event (full reading order), Peter Parker revealed his Spider-Man identity on live television. This leads to a tragedy and this knowledge was quickly erased from the world with the event of the story arc called “One More Day”.

This is when J. Michael Straczynski stopped being the main writer of The Amazing Spider-Man (see Spidey’s JMS reading order). When he left, Marvel decided to get Spider-Man back to basics. This means that Peter Parker and Mary Jane had never married, and he had no memory of being married to her. Also, Harry Osborn was alive again.

It was the beginning of “Brand New Day.” Marvel decided to alternate writers for The Amazing Spider-Man series. One of them was Dan Slott who became the sole writer at issue #648 (Jan. 2011), launching the Big Time storyline. It was the beginning of what became the longest run in Spidey’s history.

During that era, Slott created new characters, updated old ones, developed the Spider-Verse, gave us the Superior Spider-Man, and more. He only left the title in 2018, his final issue being #801. But he came back to write Spider-Man in 2022, introducing the Spider-Boy and developing a sequel to his Superior Spider-Man series.

What to read before Dan Slott’s Amazing Spider-Man?

Of course, you can check out our Spider-Man Reading Order that covers the adventures of Spidey from the start to today. But, as I was saying, Brand New Day marked the start of the rebooted Amazing Spider-Man, and Dan Slott was one of the writers, and you can start with that:

  • Spider-Man: Brand New Day Omnibus Vol. 1
    Collects Free Comic Book Day 2007 (Spider-Man), Amazing Spider-Man (1999) #546-583, Amazing Spider-Man Annual (2008) #1, Secret Invasion: Amazing Spider-Man #1-3, Presidents’ Day Celebration Digital Comic, Spider-Man: Fear Itself One-Shot (2009), Amazing Spider-Man: Extra! #2, Spider-Man: Swing Shift Director’s Cut One-Shot And Material From Amazing Spider-Man: Extra! #1.
  • Spider-Man: Brand New Day Omnibus Vol. 2 (coming soon)
    Collects TBA

The Previous Brand New Day Collection:

The Amazing Spider-Man by Dan Slott Reading Order:

I. The Amazing Spider-Man: Big Time

With the Big Time storyline, the series became a twice-monthly title with Dan Slott as the sole writer. That’s also when Peter starts working at Horizon Labs and begins a relationship with Carlie Cooper.

Alert Web-Event! Welcome to Spider-Island, where a million New Yorkers suddenly possess Spider-Man’s powers–but none of the responsibility! For more information about the event, go to the reading order.

The Big Time Ultimate Collection

That specific era of Dan Slott’s run on Amazing Spider-Man was also collected in the Spider-Man: Big Time Ultimate Collection:

II. The Superior Spider-Man

It’s not a spoiler anymore at that point. Spider-Man isn’t Amazing anymore, he is Superior. Peter Parker “died,” and his body is now inhabited by the mind of Doctor Octopus. For more information, go to the Superior Spider-Man Reading Order.

The Superior Spider-Man Complete Collection

Like the Big Time era, Dan Slott’s Superior Spider-Man stories from that time were also available in bigger books. First, there is the Omnibus.

Then, you can find those stories in the Superior Spider-Man: The Complete Collection.

III. The Amazing Spider-Man is back

We are now back to The Amazing Spider-Man. Peter Parker is himself again, in full control and ready to go big. Also, this is when Cindy Moon/Silk was introduced. For more information about her, go to the reading order.

Alert Web-Event! It’s time to enter the Spider-Verse. When the evil Inheritors begin exterminating spider characters throughout the multiverse, every single Spider-Man ever is needed to save the day! You can find more information in the full Reading Order of the event. A must-read.

The Spider-Verse Omnibus:

  • Spider-Verse/Spider-Geddon Omnibus
    Collects Edge of Spider-Verse (2014) #1-5; Spider-Verse (2014) #1-2; Superior Spider-Man (2013) #32-33; Amazing Spider-Man (2014) #7-15; Spider-Man 2099 (2014) #5-8; Scarlet Spiders (2014) #1-3; Spider-Woman (2014) #1-4; Spider-Verse Team-Up (2014) #1-3; Free Comic Book Day 2014 (Guardians of the Galaxy) #1 (Spider-Verse story); Edge of Spider-Geddon (2018) #1-4; Spider-Geddon (2018) #0-5; Superior Octopus (2018) #1; Spider-Force (2018) #1-3; Spider-Girls (2018) #1-3; Peter Parker, the Spectacular Spider-Man (2017) #311-313; Spider-Gwen: Ghost Spider (2018) #1-4; Vault of Spiders (2018) #1-2; Spider-Geddon: Spider-Man Noir Video Comic (2018); Spider-Geddon: Spider-Gwen – Ghost Spider Video Comic (2018); Spider-Geddon: Spider-Man Video Comic (2018); Spider-Geddon Handbook (2018) #1.

The Spider-Verse event in individual paperbacks:

The Spider-Verse event in Hardcover Edition

IV. Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide

Following the 2015 Secret Wars event (reading order here), the Marvel Universe was relaunched. Just before that, Dan Slott wrote a new series that didn’t take place in the regular Marvel Universe. In this story, Peter is still married to MJ and they have a kid. :

Then, the Amazing Spider-Man came back, still written by Dan Slott, with the subtitle “Worldwide.” The idea was that Spider-Man went global. As Parker Industries is more successful than ever, with offices in New York, Shanghai, London, and San Francisco, the now-successful Peter Parker is traveling the world on business with his “bodyguard” Spider-Man in tow, like he is Iron Man

Alert Web-Event! Discover the Clone Conspiracy. The Jackal has returned, more driven and determined than ever. He offered Spidey’s greatest rogues a chance to reunite with their loved ones in exchange for loyalty. But to what end? For more, see the full reading order.

Amazing Spider-Man: Worldwide – Hardcover Edition

Once again, you can find this era in a bigger hardcover collection:

V. Amazing Spider-Man: Marvel Legacy

Not a full reboot this time, but the status quo was changed by the event of the Secret Empire crossover (reading order). It’s the last arc written by Dan Slott.

You may want to read Spectacular Spider-Man by Chip Zdarsky here. In this series, the relationship between Peter Parker and J. Jonah Jameson changed a lot, and it’s not explained in The Amazing Spider-Man.

Hardcover Edition

After The Amazing Spider-Man by Dan Slott run ended

Before Dan Slott left The Amazing Spider-Man, he co-plotted the Spider-Geddon event (reading order) with Christos Gage who wrote the story. It’s the sequel to Spider-Verse.

The next author to write the Amazing Spider-Man ongoing series was Nick Spencer, and you can find the reading order for his run here.

Dan Slott’s Return to the Spider-Verse

After a few years away from Spider-Man, Dan Slott came back to write Spider-Man stories in 2022, not on the main series, but with a new one titled “Spider-Man” to conclude his Spider-Verse saga. Morlun is back, allied with one of the most powerful beings known to the Spider-Verse, the scariest villain of all time is making his biggest play―and no Spider is safe.

At that point, Dan Slott extended his Spider-Universe by introducing the new Spider-Boy who got his solo series, and by coming back to the Superior Spider-Man. In a way, it’s more of a follow-up to the Superior Spider-Man series that takes the form of a sort of team-up between Otto Octavius and Peter Parker, with Anna Maria Marconi and Spider-Boy in supporting roles.

Last Updated on May 14, 2024.